Catfish Creek (FiveC)
563/581-5591

Subtitle

is your permit EXPIRING soon?

Beat the rush, certify NOW and
apply for renewal within 1 year.

For your convenience, we've placed the official Iowa info, including excerpts from IA Code 724, below, in THIS left-hand column.

Here's the scoop from the Iowa department of public safety, read the whole FAQ at:

http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/weapons/SF2379_FAQ.pdf

QUESTION: What are the training requirements for the renewal of an Iowa professional or nonprofessional permit to carry weapons?

ANSWER: For renewal of a permit, the training program requirements for a new Iowa professional or nonprofessional permit to carry

weapons shall apply or the renewal applicant may choose to qualify on a firing range under the supervision of an instructor certified by

the National Rifle Association or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy). Such

training or qualification must occur within the twelve-month period prior to the expiration of the applicant's current permit.

QUESTION: If my most recent Iowa permit to carry expired two months ago, will my permit application be considered an application

for a new permit or for a renewal?

ANSWER: There is a requirement that an application for the renewal of a current permit must be received by the issuing officer at least

thirty days prior to the expiration date of the current permit to be eligible for the statutory $25.00 renewal fee. Otherwise, the statutory

permit issuance fee will be $50.00. The same application form and background check requirements will apply to both new and renewal applications.

Of course the info above, from the IA DPS, is a summary of details in IA Code 724, pertaining to weapons. We've excerpted some of the more relevant info & placed it below in case you are interested in nitty-gritty details (like we are).

IA 724.11

1. Applications for permits to carry weapons shall be made to the sheriff of the county

in which the applicant resides. Applications for professional permits to carry weapons

for persons who are nonresidents of the state, or whose need to go armed arises out of

employment by the state, shall be made to the commissioner of public safety. In either case,

the sheriff or commissioner, before issuing the permit, shall determine that the requirements

of sections 724.6 to 724.10 have been satisfied. However, for renewal of a permit the

training program requirements in section 724.9, subsection 1, shall apply or the renewal

applicant may choose to qualify on a firing range under the supervision of an instructor

certified by the national rifle association or the department of public safety or another

state’s department of public safety, state police department, or similar certifying body. Such

training or qualification must occur within the twelve-month period prior to the expiration

of the applicant’s current permit.

3. The issuing officer shall collect a fee of fifty dollars, except from a duly appointed peace officer or correctional officer, for each permit issued. Renewal permits or duplicate permits shall be issued for a fee of twenty-five dollars, provided the application for such renewal permit is received by the issuing officer at least thirty days prior to the expiration of the applicant’s current permit.

724.9 Firearm training program.

1. An applicant shall demonstrate knowledge of firearm safety by any of the following means:

a. Completion of any national rifle association handgun safety training course.

b. Completion of any handgun safety training course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the national rifle association or the department of public safety or another state’s department of

public safety, state police department, or similar certifying body.

c. Completion of any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency approved by the department of public safety.

d. Completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United

States as evidenced by any of the following:

(1) For personnel released or retired from active duty, possession of an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions.

(2) For personnel on active duty or serving in one of the national guard or reserve

components of the armed forces of the United States, possession of a certificate of completion

of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification.

e. Completion of a law enforcement agency firearms training course that qualifies a peace

officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer’s duties.

2. Evidence of qualification under this section may be documented by any of the following:

a. A photocopy of a certificate of completion or any similar document indicating completion of any course or class identified in subsctn 1.

b. An affidavit from the instructor, school, organization, or group that conducted or taught a course or class identified in subsctn 1 attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant.

c. A copy of any document indicating participation in any firearms shooting competition.

3. An issuing officer shall not condition the issuance of a permit on training requirements

that are not specified in or that exceed the requirements of this section


 
Legal details about this are in the left-hand column, but for simplicity, we'll summarize the IA legal requirements below:

1) You'll need to apply for RENEWAL at least 30 days prior to the expiration of your current permit. (within 30 days prior to expiration will require a NEW application)


Just like your initial application, you'll apply for renewal to your County Sheriff.


If you meet that deadline you will be eligible for a $25 renewal fee ($35 in Dbq Co. for the plastic card)

If your permit expires, or you try to apply less than 30 days before it expires, then you will need to apply for a NEW nonprofessional permit to carry weapons, the cost of which will be $50 ($60 in Dbq Co. for the plastic card)

So apply EARLY, don't procrastinate.

2) In addition to your Iowa WP5 application, you will also need to "demonstrate knowledge of firearm safety".


To do this, you will need to show some form of proof that those requirements have been met within the last year (that's where FiveC comes in, see below).

(IA Code 724.9, subsection 1)

Choose how to PROVE your knowledge.

RENEW you current Weapons Permit, two ways (this certification is good for 1 year):
1) Take ANY FiveC course
  - improve your knowledge & training 

2) Shoot a target with one of our instructors

  - 20rds, 10 minutes, $20.

either method provides you with the proper certification you can take to your Sheriff for renewal.

Since your renewed 5-year permit is half the price of your first application, consider investing that savings in a FiveC course.

All our FiveC Courses satisfy the requirements for RENEWAL of your IA Permit to Carry Weapons

  Imagine if you are ever in a situation where you actually NEED TO DEFEND yourself or a loved one. Would you feel comfortable with the skill-set you currently have, or would you wish you had stepped up your skills a notch or two?

  What if you fire your gun in self defense and you are charged with a crime? Would you want the jury to see that you poked holes in a target, attended a competition, or took a basic online course? Wouldn't it serve better in the eyes of a jury to KNOW that you went beyond the minimum, that you learned empty hand defensive options, and that you demonstrated real proficiency in choosing AND employing your defensive choices?


  As we say in our Safely Concealed course, "You don't know what you don't know", and that tiny bit of advice, that small training hint, or that new legal information, might make the difference between life and death, or freedom and prison. For that reason, Catfish Creek offers more advanced courses for those who are already familiar with basic handgun safety.

The NEXT STEPS Course is a prime example of raising the bar on your defensive skills set. You will get a balance of live-fire range time and quality classroom instruction. You will learn a host of simple empty-hand and less than lethal defensive options, so that you can hopefully avoid employing a firearm unnecessarily. You will also learn, and demonstrate, pistol training skills which can give you a true edge in a real gun-fight. Further, we'll discuss important legal information you need to know in order to make good defensive choices and protect yourself from potential legal battles.

SURVIVE The Active Shooter is a course for those who realize we may face a very REAL threat, even in small towns, from home-grown terrorists, and wacked-out killers bent on causing senseless death. Law enforcement has found that the best way to stop such an "Active Shooter" situation is to END the life of the killer as quickly as possible.

  Our course focuses on HOW to keep yourself and your loved ones ALIVE in the midst of such an event. This includes how to cooperate with law enforcement, and what to expect as the event unfolds; as well as how to avoid and escape the chaos.

  During the range time you will also learn skills to help you take-on and defeat such a killer if there is no other recourse. Such skills include the use of protective cover, techniques for charging the threat, and taking long-range pistol shots at moving targets.


Would you be satisfied with the bare minimum training when it comes to defending  yourself or your  family?

In Dubuque County, the current Sheriff reads IA code 724 in such a way that you will NOT have an opportunity to enjoy the "statutory $25 renewal" fee. You may use the same methods shown here, OR apply for as a  new application 

LESS than 30 days prior to expiration using your DD-214. Your cost will be $50 for the 5 year permit (or $65 for the plastic card in Dbq. Co.)

  FiveC also offers a simple TARGET SHOOT Course for those who are comfortable with their current defensive skill-set, but still need an NRA Certified Instructor signature to prove they have demonstrated "knowledge of handgun safety". This course takes just a few minutes with one of our certified instructors, and will provide you with a signed certificate of completion. 
  You will demonstrate both proficiency and safety knowledge as you fire live rounds at a target at distances ranging from arm's length to 25 yards. You'll need to bring your carry gun, holster, concealment garment, and at least 20 rounds of ammunition (a spare magazine is also useful).
  Cost for this opportunity is just $20. Contact us for available opportunities, or visit our calendar.

All our FiveC Courses satisfy the requirements for RENEWAL of your IA Permit to Carry Weapons

 

last updated 11/3/2015 -kja